Shivani in final; fancied Adithya shocked

 Unseeded Pranash Babu of Tamil Nadu produced a fine effort to upset second seeded SM Adithya 3-6, 6-2, 7-6 (3) in the boys’ singles semifinals match  in the KTPPA-AITA under-18 junior tennis tournament at the KSLTA courts here on Thursday.

The top seed, Dakshineshwar Suresh enjoyed an easy outing as he beat Kaivalya Kalamese of Maharashtra 6-0, 6-4 to make his way into the final.

In the Girls’ singles, Karnataka’s Shivani Manjanna defeated Prathiba Prasad Narayan 6-2, 6-1 in the semifinals. She will take on Mubashira Anjum Shaikh of Andhra Pradesh who breezed past Deeksha Prasad 6-2, 6-0 in the other last four clash.

Shivani who then paired with Rashmika Rajan in the doubles final, defeated the duo of Prathiba P N and Pragathi P N 6-0, 6-2, to win the event. 

In the boys’ doubles, S M Aditya and Hari Singh beat the pair of Heman Nama and Dakshineshwar Suresh 6-2, 2-6, 10-8 in the finals to win the event.

Results: Boys: Singles: semifinals: Pranash Babu (TN ) bt S M Adithya (TN) 3-6, 6-2, 7-6 (3); Dakshineshwar Suresh bt Kaivalya Kalamese (Mah) 6-0, 6-4.

Final: Doubles: S M Adithya (TN )/Hari Singh (Kar) bt Heman Nama (Kar)/Dakshineshwar Suresh (TN) 6-2, 2-6, 10-8.

Semifinals: Heman Nama (kar)/Dakshineshwar S bt Ponala Siddarth/Pranash Babu 2-4, 5-3, 10-8; S M Adithya/Hari Singh bt Rahul Shankar/Varun Venkat (Kar) 4-2, 4-2.

Girls: Singles: semifinals: Shivani Manjanna (Kar) bt Prathiba Prasad Narayan (Kar) 6-2, 6-1; Mubashira Anjum Shaikh (AP) bt Deeksha Prasad (Kar) 6-2, 6-0.

Final: Shivani Manjanna/ Rashmika Rajan ( Kar ) bt Prathiba P N/Pragathi P N (Kar) 6-0, 6-2.

Semifinals: Shivani Manjanna/Rashmika Rajan bt Aadya Chala/Madhumita Meenakshi 4-1, 4-0; Prathiba P N/Pragathi P N bt Nikita Pinto/Muskan Ranjan 5-4 (7), 4-1.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Comments (+)