Sahil, Mahima clinch titles on final day

Sahil, Mahima clinch titles on final day

Talented youngster Sahil Sipani proved too good for Balraj Kajla as the third seed scored a lop-sided win to wear the boys’ under-19 crown in the CUCT Junior State-ranking badminton tournament here at the Canara Union courts on Friday.

The Kanteerava shuttler, who crushed second seed Siddharth ES 21-4, 21-4 in the semifinals, was in top form in the title clash too, romping to a 21-11, 21-14 win.

PPBA’s Mahima Aggarwal, the fourth seed, won the girls’ under-19 title, easing past Deepthi Ramesh 21-17, 21-9.

Results (prefix denotes seeding): Boys: U-19 singles final: 3-Sahil Sipani (Kantereeva) bt 11-Balraj Kajla (Air Force) 21-11, 21-14. (Semifinals): 11-Balraj K bt 4-Nikhil Shyam Sriram (NGV) 21-19, 14-21, 21-17; 3-Sahil S bt 2-Siddharth ES (I Sports) 21-4, 21-4;  Doubles final: 1-Siddharth ES (I Sports)/ Sudeep Suresh bt 2-Anirudh S Deshpande/ Sahil Sipani (Kantereeva) 21-14, 21-8.

U-17 singles final: 6-Kiran B (I-Sports) bt Mayuresh Janpandit (BBA) 13-21, 21-19, 21-19.

(Semifinals): 4-Mayuresh J bt 16-Sai Pratheek Krishna Prasad (I-Sports) 16-21, 21-18, 21-11; 6-Kiran B bt 3-Abi Amudhan S (RBA) 21-15, 22-20. Doubles final: 1-Kevin ML (I-Sports)/ Nikhil Shyam Sriram (NGV) bt 2-Kiran B/ Sai Pratheek Krishna Prasad (I-Sports) 21-18, 21-11.

Girls U-19 singles final: 4-Mahima Aggarwal (PPBA) bt 6-Deepthi Ramesh (PPBA) 21-17, 21-9.

U-17 final: 6-Ashwini Bhat K (PPBA) bt 5-Deepthi Ramesh (PPBA) 21-10, 24-22.  (Semifinals): Deepthi R bt 1-Archana Pai (PPBA) 16-21, 21-9, 21-6; Ashwini BK bt 3-Mithula UK (PPBA) 20-22, 21-10, 21-13.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Comments (+)