Century Cricketers emerge champions

Century Cricketers emerge champions

Century Cricketers emerge champions
Samuels starred with 11 wickets as Century Cricketers overcame first-innings deficit to record a narrow one-wicket win over Visweswarapuram Cricket Club (2) in the final to emerge champions in the KSCA Group I, Division IV league-cum-knockout cricket tournament for the Metro Shield.

Batting first, Yere Goud K and Bharath R scored 82 and 50 runs respectively as Visweswarapuram CC (2) made 284/8 in 55 overs. Samuels (4/96) scalped four wickets for Century Cricketers.

In reply, Century Cricketers were bowled out for 237 in 54.5 overs, with key contributions coming from Mahesh P (60) and Prithvi (56). Anand Katti with figures 5/80 was the main wicket-taker for Visweswarapuram while Nithin Mulky (2/40) and Manoj B (2/17) clinched two wickets each.

Riding on a lead of 47 runs, Visweswarapuram could only muster 111 runs in the second innings before being bundled out in 28.2 overs. Samuels with figures 7/42, was the again the wrecker-in-chief while Suresh (3/50) claimed three wickets.

Chasing a target of 158, Century Cricketers were helped by  knocks from Ullas AR (63) and Praveen (28) to reply with 159/9 in 29.3 overs.

Anand Katti (3/50) and Akshay Chenniga (4/50) got amongst wickets.
Brief scores: Final: Visweswarapuram Cricket Club (2): 284/8 in 55 overs (Venkatesh P 30, Bharath R 50, Nithin Mulky 29, Yere Goud K 82; Samuels 4-96) and 111 all out in 28.2 overs (Venkatesh P 25; Samuels 7-42, Suresh 3-50) lt to Century Cricketers: 237 all out in 54.5 overs (Prithvi 56, Pramodh 39, Mahesh P 60; Nithin Mulky 2-40, Anand Katti 5-80, Manoj B 2-17) and 159/9 in 29.3 overs (Ullas AR 63; Praveen 28; Anand Katti 3-50, Akshay Chenniga 4-50).