DMDK loses Oppn status as 8 MLAs resign

DMDK loses Oppn status as 8 MLAs resign

The DMDK, led by actor Vijayakanth, lost its main Opposition party status in Tamil Nadu on Sunday as eight of its dissident MLAs in the state Assembly sent their resignation letters to the Speaker.

The Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam (DMDK), which won 29 seats in the 2011 elections allying with the ruling AIADMK, enjoyed the principal opposition status in the Tamil Nadu assembly by pushing the DMK to the back. The DMK, headed by its president M Karunanidhi, secured only 23 seats, was dragged to the third position for the first time.

The DMDK MLAs who resigned are: C Arun Pandian, M Arun Subramanian, K Pandiarajan, K Tamil Azhagan, S Michael Rayappan, R Sundarrajan, T Suresh Kumar and R Santhi.

In addition, A Ramasamy (Puthiya Tamizhagam) and Kalai Arasu (PMK) also tendered their resignation.

“Since eight legislators from the DMDK have resigned, as per rule 2(0) of the Tamil Nadu Assembly, Speaker Dhanapal has announced that Vijayakanth has lost the principal opposition leader status in the House,” said Assembly Secretary AMP Jamaludeen.  He said the Opposition leader status will be given only if a party has a minimum strength of 24 MLAs.

All the eight DMDK MLAs have met Chief Minister Jayalalitha separately in the last few years and had appreciated the AIADMK government’s welfare schemes, especially during the proceedings in the House.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Comments (+)