Ministers play down dissidence

Five ministers in Yeddyurappa’s Cabinet - Murugesh Nirani, R Ashok, Katta Subramanya Naidu, Lakshman Savadi and Basavaraj Bommai held a joint press conference and rubbished Yatnal’s charges.

“The allegation made by Yatnal are baseless. He is trying to create a rift in the party, but he will not succeed,” they said. The ministers claimed there was no dissidence within the BJP.

“Yeddyurappa is our unquestionable leader. Yatnal is daydreaming that the BJP government will fall. All the 115 MLAs and 19 MPs are supporting Yeddyurappa,” they said.

CM’s version

Meanwhile, Yeddyurappa downplayed the absence of some key ministers during the first anniversary celebrations of the BJP government held in Bangalore on Sunday. “It was not mandatory for all ministers to attend the celebrations held in Bangalore. There is no need to blow the issue out of proportion,” the CM said replying to queries from reporters.

He said some ministers, including Eshwarappa could not attend the function on Sunday as they were preoccupied with other work. The ministers will attend the celebrations that would be held in other revenue divisions this week, he said.

Comments (+)