Late penalty miss denies CIL victory

Late penalty miss denies CIL victory
A late penalty miss cost Controllerate of Inspection Electronics (CIL) as they were held to a 2-2 draw against South United in the BDFA Super Division at the Bangalore Football Stadium on Tuesday.

CIL skipper Prakash rattled the bar from the spot in the 80th minute and then proceeded to strike the rebound back into the net but the goal was disallowed.

The referee’s decision was justified as FIFA Law 14 states that ‘the penalty taker cannot touch the ball a second time after he has put the ball into play.’ Further, if the ball rebounds off the post, without touching the goalkeeper, the penalty taker cannot kick the ball again.

CIL players protested vociferously but referee Arun remained steadfast.

Matters got worse for CIL in the 85th minute when Stephen Raj was sent off following a collision with CIL goalkeeper Abhishek.

Earlier, Lokesh M had given CIL the lead in the 39th minute but United were quick to pull one back through Magesh in the 43rd to end the first period 1-1.

In the second half, it was Magesh who found the back of the net to hand his side the lead in the 66th minute.

 The lead did not last long as Lokesh bagged his second of the day in the 70th minute to salvage a point for CIL.

In the ‘A’ Division, Bangalore United Football Club were spurred by a brace from Clivert as they eased to a 2-0 victory over Sri Gajanana.

After breaking the deadlock in the 13th minute, he then went on to double his side’s lead in the 56th.

Bangalore kept their lead and comfortably saw out the match.

Liked the story?

  • 0

    Happy
  • 0

    Amused
  • 0

    Sad
  • 0

    Frustrated
  • 0

    Angry