Namdhari triumphant

Namdhari triumphant

Hanspal brace powers Haryana side to 2-1 victory

Namdhari triumphant

Namdhari XI emerged champions of the 7th Hockey India Sub-junior boys’ National championship (‘B’ Division) at the Hockey Stadium here on Friday.

In the title clash, Namdhari produced a fighting display to eke out a 2-1 win over Mumbai School Sports Association (MSSA).

After an intense battle in the initial period, captain Hanspal Singh broke the deadlock in the 25th minute to hand Namdhari the advantage before Sartaj Alam levelled for MSSA in the 49th minute. Hanspal struck again a minute later to restore the Haryana side’s lead. They retained control for the remaining period to secure the title.

The tie started at a frenetic pace with MSSA dominating early on but it did not take long for Namdhari to find their feet as they slowly clawed their way back.

In the 23rd minute, MSSA’ goalkeeper Pratik Solanki made a good save to deny Namdhari’s Hardeep Singh, who managed to squeeze in a hit after getting past a few defenders.

Two minutes later, Namdhari deservedly went ahead when Hardeep dribbled past the MSSA’s defence and sent a pass to Akashdeep Singh inside the circle. Akashdeep then squared it for Hanspal, who tapped it in past a helpless Solanki.

Mumbai fight back
The Mumbai side came out all guns blazing in the second period and earned the equaliser through Sartaj, who, after controlling a long pass from Sunil Yadav, slammed a low shot past the Namdhari goalkeeper Parvesh Singh.

The goal only added fuel to the fire as Namdhari struck back immediately through Hanspal, who was put through by Surpreet Singh. 

Namdhari and MSSA will play in the ‘A’  Division next year.

Results: Final: Namdhari XI: 2 (Hanspal Singh 25th, 50th) bt MSSA: 1 (Tasveer Singh).
Third place: Hockey Rajasthan: 2 (Vijendra Singh Rathore 4th, 70th) bt Bengal Hockey Association: 2 (Kallu Ali 3rd, Sagar Kumar 22nd) 4-2 via shoot-out.