Akaash, Judy lead State challenge

Akaash, Judy lead State challenge

Akaash Ashok Kumar and Judy Alban will lead the challenge for Karnataka in their respective categories when the Wissen third Bangalore Open Tenpin Bowling championships, the biggest prize money event for the sport in the country, begins at the Ameoba Bowling Centre from July 19.

A total of 160 participants, including 105 bowlers from other states, will take part in the competition which is scheduled to finish on July 29.

The qualifying rounds, specifically for the Karnataka bowlers, will take place from July 19 to 21 while for the bowlers from other states, it will be held from July 22 to 27.

Vijay Punjabi and Parvez Ahmed are the other big names from the state who will vie for the title.

Meanwhile, Dhruv Sharda of Delhi will be the cynosure of the event as the four-time National champion (2012, 2013, 2015, 2017) will look to retain his crown.

The tournament is classified into three divisions -- Open division, Graded ‘A’ Division and Graded ‘B’ Division.

The qualifying rounds wil be held on Multiple entries format and for every entry, a bowler will bowl a block of three games.

The total prize money for the tournament is Rs 10 lakh.
DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)