Don't disqualify us, two JD(S) legislators urge Speaker

Don't disqualify us, two JD(S) legislators urge Speaker

The JD(S) MLAs Manappa Vajjal (Lingsugur) and Dr S Shivaraj Patil (Raichur City), who have resigned from their Assembly membership, requested Speaker K B Koliwad on Monday not to disqualify them.

After they resigned as legislators last week, JD(S) leaders C N Balakrishna and T A Sharavana petitioned Koliwad to disqualify the duo under the anti-defection law on grounds that they joined the BJP even before their resignation was accepted. Vajjal and Patil were issued a notice, calling upon them to provide an explanation on Monday.

Accordingly, Vajjal and Patil met Assembly Secretary S Murthy with a representation that stated: "We have resigned voluntarily on January 18, and we request that our resignation be put into effect from that day."

"The plea to disqualify them is before the Speaker. He will decide. The representation given by the legislators will be brought to the Speaker's notice," Murthy said.

Vajjal said he was unaware why JD(S) leaders petitioned the Speaker seeking his disqualification. "It was on our own accord that we acted. We have nothing to do with the complaint which JD(S) leaders have lodged with the Speaker," he said. Patil said he and Vajjal were yet to join the BJP. "We were invited for a programme (at the BJP office) and we went there. We will not formally join the BJP until our resignation is accepted," he said.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)