Bangalore emerge champion

Bangalore emerge champion

Bangalore University emerged champions of the South Zone Inter-university hockey (men) championship here on Sunday.

In the final, Bangalore defeated University of Madras 3-2.

Achaih DM shone with a brace (42nd, 68th) for Bangalore while Stalin Abilash also added one in the 37th minute.

For Madras, P Nambi Ganesh (48th) and T Arun Kumar (49th) netted a goal each.

The top four teams qualified for the All-India Inter-university hockey championship and the Khelo India National University Games in New Delhi in February.

Results: Final: Bangalore University: 3 (Stalin Abilash C 37th, Achaih DM 42nd, 68th) bt University of MadrasL 2 (P Nambi Ganesh 48th, T Arun Kumar 49th)

Third place: Acharya Nagarjuna University: 2 (T Venkatesh 15th, P Subramanyam 52nd) bt SRM University: 1 (Rajaprabhakar Kamal 43rd).

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)