Five YSRC MPs submit resignations to LS Speaker

Five YSRC MPs submit resignations to LS Speaker

Five YSRC MPs submit resignations to LS Speaker

Five YSR Congress Party Lok Sabha MPs on Friday submitted their resignation letters to Speaker Sumitra Mahajan over their demand for Special Category Status to Andhra Pradesh.

The five MPs are Vara Prasad Rao V, Y V Subba Reddy, P V Midhun Reddy, Y S Avinash Reddy and the party floor leader Mekapati Rajamohan Reddy.

The MPS met the speaker in her chamber and submitted their letters.

"I hereby tender my resignation of my seat in the house with immediate effect," said one of the letters.

"We do as we say! YSRC MPs are submitting their resignations today! Challenge N Chandrababu Naidu to make TDP MPs resign and stand united with the people of AP in their rightful demand of special category status for AP," YSRCP leader Jagan Mohan Reddy said in a tweet.

The MPs had said in a press conference on Thursday that they were resigning to protest the "failure" of the NDA government to grant special category status to Andhra Pradesh.

They said they were also upset as their notice for a no-confidence motion against the NDA government on the issue could not be taken up for discussion in the House due to continuous disruptions.

Jagan Mohan Reddy had announced in February that the party's five MPs would resign if its demand for special category status to Andhra Pradesh was not fulfilled by the Centre.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily