Decision on 200 vented dams soon: Acharya

The tender process for the construction of police quarters has been started. The work will commece in the month of August.
Last Updated 11 July 2010, 15:52 IST

 Speaking after inaugurating various development works being undertaken by the Amasebailu Charitable Trust in association with the Amasebailu Gram Panchayat at Amasebailu in Kundapur on Sunday, he said the recent meeting in Bangalore discussed the development of Udupi district.

 It also realised the importance of vented dams and percolation pits to solve the drinking water woes in undivided Dakshina Kannada district.

The tender process for the construction of police quarters has been started. The work will commece in the month of August. A proposal will be submitted to the government to sanction funds for the police quarters, he added.

Speaking on Nethravathi river diversion project, he said “I am opposed to the term diversion. The water should be utilised judiciously by scientific thinking. Media has been projecting me as in favour of the project. I will not give ear to such allegations.”

The government has already earmarked funds for making a study on the ambitious Saubhagya Sanjeevini scheme of A G Kodgi which envisages the joining of the river on the foothills of Western Ghat.

The Irrigation Minister will visit Varahi soon and a detailed discussion on the project will be conducted during the visit.

“I will not use the word Naxals. Instead, it is better to call them anti-social elements. We have taken all measures to contain their activities. Five police stations have been set up in Western Ghat region,” he informed.

MLA Lakshminarayana said Amasebailu Charitable Trust should become a model to the district.

Aryabhata Award winning writer G K Aithal was felicitated on the occasion. Byndoor MLA Lakshminarayana presided over the programme.

State Third Finance Commission Recommendation Implementation Task Force Chairman A G Kodgi, Kundapur MLA Haladi Srinivasa Shetty, South Canara District Central Co-operative Bank Chairman M N Rajendra Kumar, Karnataka Bank Non-Executive Chairman Ananthakrishna, SKDRDP Executive L H Manjunath, MESCOM Managing Director Sumanth, Deputy Conservator of Forest O Palayya, Kisan Sangha Secretary Satyanarayana Udupa and others were present.

(Published 11 July 2010, 15:52 IST)

Follow us on