Top honours for Narendran, Bolisetti in JK Tyre racing

Top honours for Narendran, Bolisetti in JK Tyre racing

On a balmy afternoon that began with a spectacular flip by Saran Vikram in the qualifying rounds of the Polo Cup, Narendran displayed enviable maturity and patience to work his way up over 15 laps.

Narendran had qualified for the pole position, but started fifth as he had to serve a penalty from the previous round when he was docked 30 seconds. Nevertheless, he kept his cool and moved to third spot behind Ajay Kini (Wallace Sports) and team-mate Ameya Walavalkar.

The trio was involved in a keen battle for much of the race until Narendran made his move past Walavalkar and raced ahead of Kini with a couple of laps left. He then held his position to survive a very close finish.

Later, Bolisetti, the 21-year old from Visakhapatnam, was again unbeatable as he powered his way to his third consecutive win in as many races.
Bolisetti had to initially see off a stiff challenge from veteran B. Vijay Kumar (Prime Racing) who was “tapped” from behind and lost position. Once in front, Bolisetti stepped up the pace to emerge a comfortable winner.

In the Polo Cup qualifying session, Saran Vikram crashed into tyre barrier in just his second flying lap after posting the second quickest time. He escaped unhurt, but the car suffered heavy damage as it rose vertically on impact and flipped back on its boot to land upside down.

Vishnu Prasad (Chennai) qualified for pole position while Sahil Shelar (Pune) occupied third spot.

The results:
Formula LGB Swift (Race 1 - 15 laps): S Narendran (TVS Girling) 1 (18mins, 29.541secs); Ajay Kini (Wallace Sports) 2 (18:30.010); Ameya Walavalkar (TVS Girling) 3 (18:30.745).
Super Saloons (Race 1 - 15 laps): Sailesh Bolisetti (RAD Racing) 1 (19:59.663); B Vijay Kumar (Prime Racing) 2 (20:02.037); G Siddharth Kishore (Performance Racing) 3 (20:09.861).