India pooled with Scotland, Wales

Barbados and Kenya are the other teams in the hosts’ group following the draw ceremony at Raj Nivas, the residence of the Lt Governor of Delhi, here on Thursday. “I am a lover of sport, especially badminton. We will have a great competition,” said Lt Governor Tejendra Khanna, who picked the lots.

India, who beat New Zealand for the bronze medal in Melbourne, will enjoy the services of six players, including Saina Nehwal and Chetan Anand, in Delhi. “Badminton has been on the rise in India for the last few years. We are ranked seventh in the world now. We definitely aspire to win four medals in Delhi,” said Badminton Association of India president VK Verma.

Top seeds and defending champions Malaysia will play Australia, Nigeria, Seychelles andIsle of Man, while last edition finalists England face Canada, Mauritius, Uganda and Falkland Islands in Group C in the league matches. Fourth seeds Singapore, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Jamaica and Northern Island complete Group B.

The top two from each group will enter the quarterfinal stage of the competition. Each rubber will comprise men’s and women’s singles and doubles matches, and a mixed doubles contest. Barring surprises, India should meet Canada in the quarters and England in the semis.

The Malaysian challenge will be spearheaded by world number one Chong Wei Lee. The mixed team events will be held from October 4-8 at the Siri Fort stadium while the draw for individual events, which starts on October 9, will take place on September 29.

Groupings: Group A: Malaysia, Australia, Nigeria, Seychelles, Isle of Man.
Group B: Singapore, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Jamaica, Northern Island.
Group C: England, Canada, Mauritius, Uganda, Falkland Islands.
Group D: India, Scotland, Wales, Barbados, Kenya.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)