20,682 new voters in Udupi district

20,682 new voters in Udupi district

Udupi Deputy Commissioner Priyanka Mary Francis releasing T-shirts as a part of creating awareness on the importance of elections, in Udupi on Wednesday. DH photo

Deputy Commissioner Priyanka Mary Francis said that the district administration has received 20,682 new registrations of electoral rolls.

Speaking to reporters here on Wednesday, the officer said that a total of 36,022 applications have been received including 20,682 for new registrations, 6 under Form 6A, 8,792 under Form 7, 5,602 under Form 8 and 950 under Form 8A respectively. The drive was taken up between February 22 and April 14. The deadline to submit the electoral forms is April 24, following which the Electoral Returning Officer would be taking the decision. The nominations are being accepted from Tuesday. The nominations would be received at Sthri Shakthi Bhavan at Byndoor, Assistant Commissioner’s office, Mini Vidhana Soudha at Kundapur, Old Zilla Panchayat building for Udupi and Kaup and Mini Vidhana Soudha at Taluk office in Karkala.

In the 10 poll violation cases that were reported, Rs 19,05,150 has been seized, of which three cases were in Byndoor (amount seized is Rs 4,45,340), three cases in Kundapur (amount seized is Rs 7,18,710), one in Udupi (amount seized is Rs 59,000) and three cases were reported in Karkala (amount seized is Rs 6,81,100) respectively. She said that two cases of violations on social media are reported and one in Kundapur against the JD(U) president a few days ago. Another is in Kaup and is of communal nature by a BJP member. As many as 21 FIRs are registered under the violation of model code of conduct in the district.

The number of Pink polling booths has been increased to 17 as against the 10 earlier. An extra five have been added to Udupi and the number of pink polling booths at Udupi Assembly constituency is 10, while two each in Kundapur, Kaup and Karkala and one in Byndoor. A special booth at Belur Government Higher Primary School in Kedur is considered for PWD (People With Disability) wherein nearly 60 people are specially challenged. While another polling station emphasising on tribal culture is planned at Government Higher Primary School at Ragihaklu at Heroor in Byndoor.

She added that polling will begin at 7 am and will end at 5 pm on May 12. The first phase of SVEEP programmes are completed and the district administration is embarking on the second phase to reach out to the villages which were not included in the first phase.

The DC released T-shirts and caps for the 40 employees of SLRM (Solid and Liquid Resource Management) units in the areas of Varmaballi, Nitte, Hebri, Vandse, Hardalli-Mandalli, Mudaru and Mundkuru. These are employed in the SVEEP publicity.

She said that as many as 15 companies of SSB (Shasasthra Sainik Bal) are expected, of which three have already arrived.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily