36 withdraw candidature in Mysuru dist, 147 in poll fray

With 36 candidates withdrawing their nomination papers, on the last of withdrawal on Friday, a total of 147 candidates have remained in the fray for 11 Assembly constituencies in the district for the election scheduled for May 12.

In all, 31 independent candidates withdrew from the fray. One each from Periyapatna and H D Kote Assembly segment withdrew their papers. Nine people, except Yasmeen, all eight independent candidates, withdrew their papers in the Chamundeshwari segment, where Chief Minister Siddaramaiah is the Congress candidate.

Two candidates – N M Yogeesh of Hindustan Janata Party, and Surya Prabhan Jain, Independent candidate, withdrew the papers from Krishnaraja (KR), four candidates from Chamaraja segment and three from Narasimharaja segment withdrew the papers.

As many as 12 candidates, 11 of them independents, withdrew their papers from Varuna Assembly segment. Four independent candidates from T Narasipur withdrew their papers. No candidate withdrew the nomination from Nanjangud, Hunsur and Krishnaraja Nagar Assembly segments.

In all, 197 people had filed their papers, between April 17 and 24, to contest the election, but, the Election Commission had rejected 14 nominations after scrutiny on April 25, due to various reasons, and had approved 183 candidates. Out of the 14 rejected, nine were independent candidates.


In Mandya district, comprising seven Assembly segments – Malavalli, Maddur, Melkote, Mandya, Srirangapatna, Nagamangala and K R Pet, 29 candidates withdrew the papers. As many as 118 people had filed the papers and the EC had rejected five during scrutiny. Now, after withdrawal, 84 candidates are in the fray.


In Chamarajanagar, which comprises four Assembly segments — Chamarajanagar, Hanur, Gundlupet and Kollegal – six candidates withdrew their papers and 43 candidates are in the fray.

In all, 53 candidates had filed the papers and the EC had rejected four papers.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0



36 withdraw candidature in Mysuru dist, 147 in poll fray


Write the first review for this !