Political climate hots up, dissent in Cong, BJP in Mysuru region

B Shivaramu

The dissent was more evident in Mandya, where supporters of an aspirant Ganiga Ravi Kumar ransacked the district Congress office as they were angry with the party leaders for issuing the ticket to sitting MLA Ambareesh once again.

According to former MLA M Srinivas of the JD(S), their party is in a comfortable position in the region compared to the rivals as those who had a clue that they would not get a ticket left the party even before the candidates’ list was announced. “In Narasimharaja constituency, Sandesh Swamy left the party as the candidature of Abdullah Azeez in Narasimharaja was announced much earlier. Similarly, in H D Kote, C Anil Kumar, son of the late MLA Chikkamadu, left as Chikkanna was chosen over him,” he pointed out.

“Out of the 29 seats in the districts of Mysuru, Mandya, Hassan and Chamarajanagar, the JD(S) has finalised the candidates for 23 constituencies. Out of 11 constituencies in Mysuru, 10 candidates have been announced, except Nanjangud. In Mandya district, out of seven constituencies, only Mandya has been kept pending for some reasons. In Hassan, all the seven nominees have been finalised. All the four candidates for Chamarajanagar district have to be finalised yet,” said Srinivas.

In the Congress, KPCC vice-president B Shivaram, who was an aspirant from Belur constituency, is likely to contest as a rebel candidate. The Congress has chosen the wife of the late MLA Y N Rudresh Gowda, Kirthana.

Shivaram said, his supporters are upset as the party high command has not issued him a ticket. “It has become inevitable to take a decision at this juncture. However, a final decision will be taken after holding a meeting with my supporters and party workers. The future course of action will be based on their opinion,” he said.

He said, “My supporters allege that District in-charge Minister A Manju is responsible for the party high command sidelining me.”

In Chamarajanagar district, a wave of rebellion is witnessed among the Congress workers in Kollegal Assembly constituency as A R Krishnamurthy was announced as a party candidate.

While B Rachaiah, who was a ticket aspirant, has announced of contesting as a rebel candidate, sitting MLA S Jayanna has also expressed his disappointment over the party’s stand. But he has clarified that he would not contest as a rebel candidate.

Another aspirant S Balaraju opined that anybody who has worked for the party for long could have been considered. “A R Krishnamurthy is not even one month old in the party. He has also lost four times earlier. The party should not have considered him,” he said.

A section of party workers is disappointed for issuing a ticket to sitting MLA C Puttarangashetty. Chinnaswamy, who was a ticket aspirant, will contest as a rebel.

The Congress has declared the candidates for all the 28 constituencies it is contesting in the region. In Melkote constituency of Mandya district, the Congress is supporting Swaraj India Party candidate Darshan Puttannaiah, son of late MLA K S Puttannaiah.

The BJP has been cautious. It has announced candidates in only two constituencies in Mandya district so far — Srirangapatna and Malavalli (reserved). The party is yet to open an account the district. In Hassan district also, the BJP has announced its candidate only for Arkalgud.

Except in 1994 and 1999 when B B Shivappa represented Sakleshpur, the BJP is yet to see an MLA in the district. While the BJP has announced its candidate for all the four constituencies in Chamarajanagar district, it has, so far, finalised the candidates in just four constituencies out of 11 in Mysuru district.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0