Tarikere MLA to contest as Independent

Tarikere MLA to contest as Independent

Tarikere MLA G H Srinivas said he will contest the Legislative Assembly election as an Independent candidate.

On Tuesday, he said that he has no plan to join another party.

He said he has already started campaigning. “I am confident of winning as voters will support me on the basis of the development works. I have more than 10,000 supporters with me,” he added.

Srinivas belongs to Kuruba community. JD(S) candidate T H Shivashankarappa also belongs to the same community. This development may divide the votes of the community.

Congress has announced the candidature of S M Nagaraj from Lingayat community. The BJP is yet to announce its candidate.

Meanwhile, Gayatri Shanthegowda, who was a Congress ticket aspirant, said that neither she will quit the party nor will she contest independently.

She said she will continue to work for the party according to the chief minister’s wish. “My supporters are obviously disappointed. But I will not shirk from my responsibilities and I will work towards the victory of the party candidate,” she said.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily