Rahul trails in Amethi by over 20,000 votes

Congress President Rahul Gandhi is trailing behind BJPs Smriti Irani in Amethi by over 20000 votes according to ECI. Rahul Gandhi is contesting from 2 different constituencies, Wayanad and Amethi. 

In Wayanad, Rahul Gandhi has taken a massive lead of over 4 lakh votes against CPI's P.P Suneer. He is tipped to win the seat comfortably.

Amethi is considered a Congress bastion and a loss in that constituency could be a major setback for the Congress party and Rahul Gandhi. 

Rahul Gandhi has recorded 44.48 per cent of the vote share while Smriti Irani has recorded 49.06 per cent of the vote share. He is currently trailing by over 20,000 votes in Amethi. Rahul had won Amethi in 2014 defeating Smriti Irani by over one lakh votes. 

Comments (+)