Assault on cop: Maharashtra legislators' suspension revoked

Assault on cop: Maharashtra legislators' suspension revoked

 The Maharashtra assembly Wednesday revoked the suspension of five legislators, allegedly involved in the assault on a policeman inside the legislature premises March 19 this year.

State Parliamentary Affairs Minister Harshwardhan Patil announced the development in the house following a meeting of leaders of all parties and the recommendations of a committee which probed the issue under the chairmanship of senior legislator Ganpatrao Deshmukh.

The legislators who will now be able to attend the assembly proceedings are: Kshitij Thakur (Bahujan Vikas Aghadi), Rajan Salvi (Shiv Sena), Jaykumar Raval (Bharatiya Janata Party), Ram Kadam (Maharashtra Navnirman Sena) and Pradeep Jaiswal (Independent).

The five beat up Special Arrangement Assistant Police Inspector Sachin Suryavanshi for stopping Thakur's vehicle and imposing a fine for over-speeding on the Bandra Worli Sea link a day earlier.

Following an uproar over the incident, the Marine Drive Police lodged an FIR against Thakur, Kadam and 14 others.

Thakur and Kadam were arrested March 21 and a court granted them bail four days later.

Earlier this month, when the monsoon session of the legislature began, opposition parties demanded the suspensions of the legislators be revoked since Suryavanshi was reinstated after his suspension following the incident.

Speaker Dilip Walse-Patil then ruled that the matter was between the government and the opposition parties who could take a decision on the issue.

Comments (+)