CP Joshi elected new speaker of Rajasthan Assembly

CP Joshi elected new speaker of Rajasthan Assembly

Senior Congress leader former Union minister C P Joshi was elected as speaker of the 15th Legislative Assembly.

Leader of the House, Ashok Gehlot proposed his name for the speaker which was seconded by Deputy Chief Minister Sachin Pilot, leader of Opposition Gulab Chand Katariya, and leaders of other parties and some independent candidates.

Congress MLA Mahesh Joshi has been appointed as chief whip of the party, while Mahendra Choudhary the deputy chief whip.

The 68-year-old Congress veteran took over the chair relieving pro tem speaker Gulab Chand Kataria after a voice vote.

Addressing the House after taking charge as speaker, Joshi said that every member will be given a chance to speak under the rules and regulations. He also appealed Assembly members to optimally utilise the time of the house. The first session of the Assembly began on Tuesday.

Joshi was elected from the Nathdwara constituency. He was a Member of Parliament from Bhilwara in the 15th Lok Sabha and had served as the Union minister for road transport and highways from 2009 to 2013.

For the first time, the Assembly secretariat decided to beam a live webcast of the House proceeding at the official site of Rajasthan Assembly.