‘1 cr each for 32 villages under Grama Vikasa’

‘1 cr each for 32 villages under Grama Vikasa’

Members of Kudubi community perform ‘Gumtas’ during the procession organised prior to Rajyotsava celebrations at Nehru Maidan in Mangaluru on Thursday.

As many as 32 villages in the district, identified under Mukhyamanthri Grama Vikasa scheme, will receive funds to the tune of Rs 1 crore each for implementing developmental works, District In-Charge Minister U T Khader said.

“Out of the total Rs 32 crore, as much Rs 11.80 cr has been released and the development works are in progress,’’ Khader said while delivering his message during the 63rd Kannada Rajyotsava celebrations, organised by district administration, at Nehru Maidan here, on Thursday.

He said four among the seven multi-village drinking water schemes had been completed and Rs 22.36 cr from a total Rs 32.30 cr was utilised for implementing the works. “The infrastructure in urban pockets including Mangaluru City Corporation (MCC) are getting upgraded under different schemes including `Nagarotthana’ second and third phases.”

Government has sanctioned Rs 10 crore to fund 23 works aimed at improving infrastructural facilities at places of tourism potential. Works worth Rs 25-cr, under coastal tourism circuit, has been approved by the government for Dakshina Kannada district. The PWD had received a grant of Rs 20.56 crore to upgrade roads and highways rendered unmotorable due to recent rains, he added.

Khader said that a proposal to widen and upgrade existing stretches in Charmady Ghats, at an estimated cost of Rs 250 crore, was submitted to central government. “Tenders have been floated for works being planned under Rs 91.25-crore Paschimavahini project,” he added.


The district Rajyotsava awards were presented to Kumar Pernaje (Agriculture), Shekhar Bhandary (Literature), Bondala Sachhidananda Shetty (education), P M Hasanabba from Moodbidri (music), Dinaker Indaje (Journalism), Vidwan Shrawan Ullal (classical dance), Nagesh A (sports), Mohammed Shamil Arshad (sports), John Chandran (drawing), Chandrashekar Nanil (social service), Dr I Shashikanth Jain (social service), Shankar B Shetty Virar (social service), Kurnadu Shivanna Acharya (folk), Gopal Shibarooru (folk), Dr Manaroma Rao (medicine) and Dr Dinesh Kadam (plastic surgeon).

Associations presented with the district Rajyotsava award are Thekkil Rural Development Trust, Aranthodu (social service, Sullia), Billava Seva Samaja (social service, Garodi), Matha Amruthanandamayi Seva Samithi (Social service, Sulthan Battheri), Kadri Nruthya Vidyanilaya Charitable Trust (social service, Kadri), Thanniru Bhavi Divers Association (social service), Mangaluru Mechanical Fishermen Primary Co-operative Association and Mother Theresa Home for the dying destitute.

Earlier, the Rajyotsava celebrations begun with a colourful procession. The Forest Department’s tableau was adjudged as the best. Among the teams that participated in the vibrant parade, St Theresa school’s Road Safety Team (RST) led by Arrel Leora was declared as the best march past team.

The teams from Ramakrishna college and Navachethana college also received prizes for presenting cultural programmes.

Commands in Kannada

The 63rd district-level Rajyotsava celebrations at Nehru Maidan departed from convention with the Parade commander Harish Nayak delivering the commands and reports in high-pitched Kannada language.

Thus, instead of shouting `quick march’, Nayak ordered, `Shegra Nade’ to all members participating in the Rajyotsava parade. After Belagavi, Dakshina Kannada became the second district to replace Rajyotsava parade’s commands and reports either in Hindi or English languages with Kannada language.

Incidentally, DK Superintendent of Police Ravikanthe Gowda was instrumental in the implementation of commands and reports in Kannada language at both Belagavi and Dakshina Kannada districts.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily