Council by-poll: Venugopal, Ahmed file nominations

Council by-poll: Venugopal, Ahmed file nominations

M C Venugopal and Nasser Ahmed of the Congress file their nominations for the by-elections to Legislative Council.

M C Venugopal and Naseer Ahmed of the Congress, on Monday, filed their nomination papers for the by-elections, to the Karnataka Legislative Council scheduled on October 4.

Of the three seats for which by-elections are being held, the Congress has decided to field its candidates for two seats. JD(S), its coalition partner, will contest one seat. Monday is the last date for filing nominations.

MLAs are the voters in by-elections. A candidate requires a minimum of 112 votes to emerge victorious. The coalition partners can easily ensure the election of their candidates as they altogether have 118 MLAs with them.

The BJP is unlikely to field its candidates due to lack of numbers. The saffron party has 104 members in the Assembly.