Dynasties to 'rule' jamboo savari

The procession will see tableaux highlighting the achievements of various kings

Dynasties to 'rule' jamboo savari

Chairman of Dasara Tableaux Sub-committee Rajkumar told media in the city on Tuesday that 29 districts in the State will be participating with 32 tableaux depicting dynasties that ruled respective parts, during ‘jamboo savari’ on October 17. This is a best way to learn about the history and also develop a sense of pride about our roots, he said.

The Mysore district has chosen the concept ‘Dasare olagondu Dasare’ (Dasara within Dasara) promising to highlight the developmental works like University of Mysore, K R Hospital and KRS dam undertaken during the period of ‘Rajarshi’ Sri Nalwadi Krishnaraja Wadiyar from 1902 to 1940. Cauvery Neeravari Nigam will also be highlighting the developmental works taken up during Nalwadi’s reign but only between 1911 and 1931.
Department of Information and Publicity will showcase first people’s representatives meeting in the nation held during the period of rule of Sri Chamaraja Wadiyar X in 1881.

Another interesting point is Mandya is coming up with the tableau on ‘first Dasara held in Srirangapatna in 1610 and famous Sriranganatha temple’. Pandit Puttaraj Gavai who passed away recently will be paid a perfect homage with the tableau of Gadag district. Chikkaballapura district has come out with an ideal theme to commemorate 150th birth anniversary of Sir M Visvesvaraya. The sub-committee is designing a tableau ‘Navabharatha Shilpigalu’ (Architects of modern India)- 1950. Bangalore (Urban) is coming up with a replica of ‘Bangalore Palace’ in 1887, followed by Chamarajanagar-Balemantapa and Dewan Poornaiah (1656 AD), Hassan- Halebeedu temple and Raja Vishnuvardhana, Darpanasundari and ‘natyarani’ Shanthale (10 to 14 AD), Kodagu- Historical fort and Palace (1812 AD), Yadagiri-Raja Venkatappa Nayaka and Kallina Kote (1843 to 1858), Belgaum- Kittur Chennamma, fort and soldiers (1782), Chitradurga- Raja Veeramadakari Nayaka, fort and royal emblem (1754 to 1779), Haveri-Palace of Savanur Nawab, fort and cannons (16 to 17 century), Shimoga- ‘Shistina’ Shivappa Nayaka, Bidanur fort and royal emblem (1645 to 1661), BIjapura- Gol Gumbaz, Navarasapura and Sangeeth Mahal (1602), Tumkur- Chikkabhoopala Urs, Madhugiri, monolithic  hills and cannons (1400 to 1779), Dharwad- contributions of Kalyani Chalukya, Annigeri, Amrutheshwara temple and poet Pampa (16th century), Bellary- Vijayanagar empire, stone chariot, gopura of Ugranarasimha and Virupaksha temples (1450 to 1500), Ramanagari- ‘Naada Prabhu’ Magadi Kempegowda, Savanadurga fort (1569 to 1658), Raichur- Navaranga Darwaz and fort (1530), Dakshina Kannada (Mangalore)- Rani Abbakka Devi (1525), Bidar- fort and cannons (1420), Koppal- Anegondi fort (1406 to 1565), Chikkamagalur- Amrutheshwara temple, Amruthapura (1196), Bangalore rural- Shivagange temple, Fort (Hoysala Vishnuvardhana, Shanthaladevi and chariot), Davangere- Uchchangi fort (Ninth century), Udupi- Aluppa Raja and dance splendour (seventh to 14th century), Gulbarga- Malakhedada Rashtrakutas-Amoghavarsha Nrupathunga, Kaviraja Marga and other scholars (757 to 973 AD), Bagalkote- Cave temples at Badami (including Immadi Pulikeshi’s Vishnu temple) and Uttara Kannada (Karwar)- Mayura Verma and Banawasi temple (345 to 365 AD).

Rajkumar said Rs 6.15 lakh has been released to the sub-committee, of which Rs 1.75 lakh is spent on its tableau. As the respective districts have borne the expenditures to design their tableaux, the sub-committee will be spending the remaining amount on arrangements. The first best tableau will be awarded with a cash prize of Rs 15,000, Rs 10,000 and Rs 5,000 for second and third prizes respectively. Consolation prize of Rs 2,500 will be given to two tableaux.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)