JD(S) holds reins of Mysuru TP

JD(S) holds reins of Mysuru TP

Kalamma elected prez, Manju vice-president

As anticipated, Janata Dal (Secular) held the reins of Mysuru Taluk Panchayat on Saturday. JD(S) nominees Kalamma Kemparamaiah and S B Manju were elected president and vice-president respectively. The president’s post was reserved for Scheduled Caste (woman) and that of vice-president for General Merit category.

While Kalamma, who represents Doora constituency, had filed her nomination from JD(S), N S Anjali from Yadakola was the Congress contender. For vice-president’s post, S B Manju, representing Anandur and M Vijaykumar from Hootagalli-I from JD(S) and M S S Kumar from Marballi, a Congress nominee, and K M Shankar, representing Devalapura from BJP, were in the fray.

Both Vijaykumar and Shankar withdrew their papers later. Kalamma and Manju secured 25 votes each, defeating their rivals, who were able to garner 13 votes.

However, it was not a smooth sailing for JD(S) that was short of one member to capture power in the 38-member taluk panchayat. The JD(S) had emerged as the single largest party with 19 seats, followed by Congress-13, BJP-5 and a lone Independent. Five members from BJP and the lone Independent candidate extended their support to JD(S) nominees.

The members taking part in the voting were asked to raise their hands in support, whenever the name of the candidate was put to vote. Assistant Commissioner (Mysuru sub-division) A S Anand, Tahsildar Naveen Joseph and Executive Officer of Taluk Panchayat D Udaykumar were the returning officials.

30-month tenure
Speaking to media later, Chamundeshwari MLA G T Devegowda said, “It will be a 30-month tenure for the incumbent president, as another strong aspirant G K Tulsi will be accommodated for the remaining tenure.”

Gowda clarified that the party had not entered into any pre-poll alliance with BJP for the polls. Mysuru and Kodagu MP Pratap Simha had promised to extend support. In a goodwill gesture, a member from BJP will be elected as the president of the standing committee on social justice. During the previous five-year tenure of the TP, JD(S) had held the reins in alliance with the BJP.