BSY: I will take CM oath on May 17

BSY: I will take CM oath on May 17

State BJP president B S Yeddyurappa on Wednesday said he will be taking oath as the chief minister on Thursday.

Yeddyurappa, who was elected as the BJP legislature party leader, is learnt to have said that the party will prove the majority in the Assembly and provide a stable government.

Meanwhile, a delegation of BJP leaders, including Yeddyurappa and Union Minister Ananth Kumar, met Governor Vajubhai Vala and requested him to invite the party to form the government. Yeddyurappa submitted a letter to the Governor showing him that the BJP has 105 MLAs, including KPJP winner R Shankar.

KPJP MLA Shankar, who won from Ranebennur, is learnt to have extended his support to the BJP.

Meanwhile, Union Minister in charge of BJP elections in Karnataka Prakash Javadekar claimed that many the Congress and the JD(S) MLAs, who are unhappy with the Congress-JD(S) alliance, are ready to support the saffron party. He denied accusation by JD(S) leader H D Kumaraswamy that the BJP was indulging in horse trading.