Karnataka bypolls: Profiles of all winners

Karnataka bypolls: Profiles of all winners

JD(S) workers celebrate in Ramanagaram. ANI photo

  Anitha Kumaraswamy, Ramanagara assembly constituency  

  Age: 55

  Education: Bachelor of Engineering (Computer Science) from Bangalore Institute of Technology.

  Experience: The first time she won an election was in 2008 when she got elected in the Madhugiri bye-election. But she went on to lose    in  Channapatna in the 2013 Assembly polls and also the Lok Sabha polls in 2008 and 2014.



    LR Shivarame Gowda, Mandya Lok Sabha constituency

    Age: 62

    Education: Bachelor of Arts (incomplete)

    Experience: He is a two-ti me MLA who represented the Nagamangala assembly constituency as an independent. Later, he joined the          Congress, then the BJP before ending up in the JD(S). He also runs the Royal Concorde International School.







  Anand Nyamagouda, Jamkhandi assembly constituency

  Age: 36  

  Education - MBA Finance from Bangalore University

  Experience: First-time MLA, son of late Siddu Nyamagouda, who was a senior Congress leader.






    VS Ugrappa, Bellary Lok Sabha constituency

    Age: 64

    Education: Bachelor of Law, Bangalore University Law College

    Experience: He hails from Pavagada in the Tumakuru district. He is a self-proclaimed authority on Constitutional Law. He headed      Congress fact-finding committee on illegal mining in Ballari during the BJP regime (2008-2013).





   BY Raghavendra, Shimoga Lok Sabha constituency

    Age: 45

    Education: Bachelor of Business Management, Kuvempu University

    Experience: Raghavendra, son of BJP strongman BS Yeddyurappa, famously defeated former CM S Bangarappa in Shimoga by a            margin of 52,000 votes in 2009. In the 2014 bye-election, Raghavendra became an MLA from his father’s Shikaripura constituency.