Indian flag flies high at Science Olympiad

Indian flag flies high at Science Olympiad

The medalists are: Aneesh Pasricha (Silver; The Shri Ram School, Gurgaon), S Varun Rajagopal (Bronze; Padma Seshadri Bala Bhavan Senior Secondary School, Chennai), Nikhil Suhas Deodhar (Bronze; Mushtifund Higher Secondary School, Panaji) and Shreyas Srivastava (Bronze; St. John’s School, Varanasi).

Sixty-nine students from 19 countries competed at the Olympiad. The Indian team was led by Prof R Shankar, Foreign Secretary, Geological Society of India and Dr T A Viswanath, Associate Professor, Goa University. Prof A C Narayana, University of Hyderabad and Dr Bimanbihari Nath, Raman Research Institute, Bangalore were observers.

IESO is a competition for secondary school students (X and XI standard), involving theory and practical tests. It aims at creating awareness and improving the teaching of earth sciences in schools across the world and forge friendship among young students from different parts of the globe.

The Indian Team members are chosen through an entrance test and a subsequent training camp conducted by the Geological Society of India. The Entrance Test for IESO-2011 in Italy will be held on January 23, 2011 at 61 centres across the country.

Online registration and details at
Further information may be obtained from Prof R Shankar (Email:;
Cell: 09164785804).

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)