Mysuru to go to polls in single phase on April 18

Mysuru to go to polls in single phase on April 18

Deputy Commissioner N Manjushri during a meeting in connection with the Lok Sabha elections in Mandya on Monday. Additional DC M J Roopa, Additional SP Balaramegowda and ZP CEO K Yalakkigowda are seen. dh photo

With the Election Commission announcing the dates for the Lok Sabha elections, Karnataka will go to the polls in two phases on April 18 and 23. The elections will be held in seven phases between April 11 and May 19 and the counting will be on May 23.

The model code of conduct has been implemented with immediate effect from March 10. The notification would be issued on March 19 and the filing of nominations begins. March 29 is the last date to withdraw the nomination papers.

The general elections for Mysuru-Kodagu, Mandya, Hassan and Chamarajanagar districts will be conducted under Phase 2, on April 18.

Hassan Deputy Commissioner Akram Pasha informed that the district would go to the polls on April 18. While the total population of the district is 20,62,257, the number of voters is 16,29,587. The number of male voters is 8,22,399, and female voters 8,07,188. The number of voters may increase as there is a provision to include names into the voter’s list till the last date of nominations. There are possibilities of 20,000 voters including their names, he said.

The government vehicles used by people's representatives have been withdrawn. Advertisement hoardings have been removed near government offices and public places, he said.

The control room would function round-the-clock and the public can contact 261111 to get information and lodge complaints if there are any violation. Around 20 check-posts have been opened at the border, he said. The complaints can also be lodged on mobile application ‘cvigil'. The complaints would be acted upon within 100 minutes, he said.


In all, 16,67,044 people are eligible to vote from Chamarajanagar, a SC reserved Lok Sabha constituency. This includes 8,34,392 men, 8,32,541 women and 111 transgenders.

Around 1,11,504 more people have enrolled when compared to 2014, said DC B B Kaveri.


The total number of voters in Mandya constituency is 16,90,483, which includes 8,45,479 men, 8,44,094 women, 798 service voters, and 112 others, said Deputy Commissioner N Manjushri. Any party or leader should take prior permission online for organising a public meeting or to take out rallies, meetings and others, she said. Each candidate can spend up to Rs 70 lakh for the election, she said.

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox

Check out all newsletters

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox