Nobel laureates to address Science Congress in Mysuru

Prime Minister Modi scheduled to inaugurate the event on January 3

Nobel laureates to address Science Congress in Mysuru

Preparations are on at the University of Mysore to host the 103rd Indian Science Congress from January 3 to 7, 2016. Prime Minister Narendra Modi is scheduled to inaugurate the august conference at 10 am at amphitheatre (open air theatre) on Manasagangotri campus.

Addressing media here on Wednesday, Vice-chancellor Prof K S Rangappa said  that the prime minister’s office has confirmed Narendra Modi’s participation. He said that as per the protocol followed at Indian Science Congress, the members should also share the dais with VIPs, with prime minister being the permanent invitee irrespective of host.

He said not less than 15,000 delegates are expected at the conference, with 8,000 registered delegates already in the list, who will be later joined by 7,000 post-graduate students from different colleges affiliated to the university.

While the general public are not allowed for the inaugural session, they are free to participate in other programmes organised at the same venue in the later days.

Nobel laureates such as Prof John B Gurdon, Physiology of Medicine (2012); Prof David J Gross, Physics (2004); Prof Dan Shechtman, Chemistry (2011);  Prof Serger Haroche, Physics (2012) and Prof Arthur B Mc Donald, Physics (2015) will deliver talks at the amphitheatre on January 4 and 5.

Prof Manoj Bhargava who won mathematics award (fields medalist) in 2014 will speak on January 6. Bharat Ratna Prof C N R Rao, prof Kasturirangan will be the speakers among five public talks category.

Children’s Congress

President Pranab Mukherjee is likely to inaugurate the Children’s Science Congress on January 4. On the same afternoon, Union HRD Minister Smriti Irani will  inaugurate Women’s Science Congress. Vice-president Hameed Ansari is expected for valedictory session, said Rangappa.

The vice chancellor said that apart from brainstorming sessions, an exhibition is also being organised with 150 exhibitors from different fields expected to showcase their achievements.

The list of participants include Defence Research Development Organisation (DRDO), Indian Space Research Organisation (Isro), Oil and Natural Gas Corporation (ONGC), Department of Science and Technology, TATA Steel, Ministries of Tourism, Shipping, Melinda Gates Foundation, Biocon from Bengaluru, BSNL, Karnataka Biotechnology and Information Technology Services to name a few.DH News Service

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Deccanherald.com/news/lok-sabha-elections-2019 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Comments (+)