Prathap Chandra Shetty elected Council chairman

Prathap Chandra Shetty elected Council chairman

Congress MLC K Prathap Chandra Shetty was unanimously elected as chairman of Legislative Council on Wednesday.

A four-time MLA from Kundapura and three-time MLC, Shetty was the lone person to file nomination for the chairman’s post. S R Patil of the Congress proposed the name of Shetty for the post and Ivan D’souza seconded it. 

Pro tem chairman Basavaraj Horatti put the proposal for a vote and the members from the treasury benches gave their approval. With none voting against, Horatti announced that Shetty had been elected unanimously.

Horatti, a former minister, along with Congress' S R Patil were considered as strong contenders until the grand old party sprung a surprise by nominating Shetty as its candidate.

Deputy Chief Minister G Parameshwara, Leader of Opposition Kota Srinivas Poojary, floor leader Jayamala and senior member S R Patil led Shetty to the podium. Horatti handed over the charge to Shetty.

In his congratulatory address, Parameshwara said Shetty’s character and experience were considered by the party and was given the new responsibility.

Poojary observed that there was not a single black spot in Shetty’s long political career. Referring to Shetty as ‘Bhishma’ of coastal politics, he said, his seniority and spotless record prompted the Congress party to reward him with the chairman’s post.