Misbah-ul-Haq appointed Pak Test captain

The announcement of Misbah's appointment came today with the board also retaining Shahid Afridi as captain for the One-Day Internationals and T20 matches against South Africa.

The national selectors had recalled Misbah to the One-Day and T20 squad announced on Thursday since he was dropped after the T20 World Cup this year and last played a Test for Pakistan at Sydney early this year.

Earlier former cricketers including Asif Iqbal and Zaheer Abbas had called for the appointment of senior batsman, Younis Khan as captain for the Test series while Abdul Qadir urged the PCB to stick with Yousuf as Test captain.

Pakistan Test squad for South Africa series: Imran Farhat, Taufiq Umar, Umar Akmal, Azhar Ali, Mohammad Yousuf, Asad Shafiq, Misbah-ul-Haq (Capt), Zulqarnain Haider, Danish Kaneria, Saeed Ajmal, Abdul Rehman, Umar Gul, Tanvir Ahmed, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Sami. Sohail Tanvir (subject to fitness).

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)