Property returns: 87 defaulting IAS officers face action

According to the Department of Personnel and Training (DoPT), 87 officers at the level of Director, Under Secretaries and Deputy Secretaries have not given Immovable Property Returns (IPR) for 2009 and 2010, deadline for which ended on January 31 this year.

Taking a strict view, DoPT has written to concerned ministries in this regard and sought action taken report against the defaulters. Out of the 87 officers, a highest of 13 are from Defence Ministry followed by 11 from Home Ministry, six from Ministry of Minority Affairs, five from Ministry of Mines and three each from Information and Broadcasting Ministry and Staff Selection Commission.

There are in all 4,356 IAS officers working in different departments of central and state governments. "Ministries/Departments are well aware that the Immovable Property returns (IPR) in respect of Central Secretariat Service Officers (Under Secretary and above level) are required to be furnished to this division by January 31 of every year.

"However, despite repeated reminders the IPR for the year 2009 which was to be received by this division by January 31, 2010 and IPR for the year 2010 which was to be received in this Division by January 31, 2011 have not yet been received in respect of large number of officers," the fifth reminder by DoPT said.

The Ministry, through its missive, pointed out that "several defaulting officers have indicated in their Annual Performance Assessment Reports (APARs) that they had submitted their IPR on time, whereas the IPRs have not yet been received in this division.

"...In case the statement made in the APARs by officers does not reflect the correct position, suitable action may be taken under relevant rules," it said. The Ministry had earlier directed that appropriate entry regarding late submission/non submission of IPRs should be made in the relevant APARs of the concerned officers.

The DoPT also sought details of action taken against defaulters by concerned ministries/departments. One officer each in Central Vigilance Commission, Union Public Service Commission, Water resources Ministry and Ministry for Heavy Industries are among those who have not given their IPRs.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get the top news in your inbox
Comments (+)