Bypoll in Bihar, TN peaceful

Bypoll in Bihar, TN peaceful

An estimated 48 per cent of the electorate exercised their franchise in Daroundha. No untoward incident was reported despite apprehensions of violence. The byelection was necessitated following the death of ruling Janata Dal-United legislator Jagmato Devi early this year.

Trichy West recorded poll percentage of around 55 percent by around 4 pm. Puducherry’s Indira Nagar constituency witnessed a voter turnout of around 83 per cent. Though there are 16 candidates in the fray for Trichy West, the main fight is between AIADMK’s M Paranjothi and DMK candidate and former transport minister K N Nehru.

 The seat fell vacant after  the death of AIADMK’s Mariam Pitchai  in May.The bypoll in Puducherry was necessitated after the resignation of All India NR Congress  head and Chief Minister N Rangasamy who chose to retain the Kadirkamam seat.

 Barely 26 per cent of the total electorate of Khadakwasla constituency in Pune turned out to cast their votes for the bypoll.

The election was necessitated by the death of the popular Maharashtra Navnirman Sena legislator Ramesh Wanjale.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)