Appointment to Media Academy in a week

Appointment to Media Academy in a week

Chief Minister Jagadish Shettar on Monday said the government will appoint the chairperson and members of Media Academy within a week.

Speaking at the TSR Memorial and Mohare Hanumantharaya Development and Environmental Journalism awards presentation ceremony, Shettar said the academy, among other tasks can take up training sessions for budding journalists.

The chief minister also felt that the electronic media should refrain from indulging in “breaking news” tactics all the time just to attract viewership.

He said the media should highlight the wrong-doings of the government but at the same time should not twist facts.

Earlier, senior journalists G N Ranganath Rao and Garudanagiri Nagaraj were honoured with TSR Memorial Award for 2010 and 2011 respectively. Shivasharanappa Vali and M B Desai were presented with the Mohare Hanumantharaya Journalism Award for 2010 and 2011 respectively. K V Paramesh  and Ravindra Bhat Ainakai received development journalism awards. Narayana Karanth Peraje and Ajjamada Ramesh Kuttappa were presented the environmental awards.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)