HC dismisses pleas of Syndicate ex-members

The High Court on Monday dismissed the petitions filed by ex-Syndicate members of the Bangalore and Mysore universities, challenging their removal from Syndicate membership by the State government.

Justice Ashok B Hinchigeri passed the order, saying that the petitioners are neither elected nor appointed, as they are nominated.

Three-year tenure

Hence, the notification issued by the government clearly says that their tenure is for three years or till further orders, whichever is earlier.

The bench upheld the government’s decision and the petition was dismissed. K V Acharya, T H Srinivasaiah and C K Jagadeesh Prasad had challenged the government’s decision to remove them as members of the Syndicate of the Bangalore University.

A M Bhaskar, Hirendra Shah, Dasaiah and Jagadeesh, members of the Syndicate
of the Mysore University, had challenged their removal by the Congress government.

Comments (+)