Cong wins 10 out of 23 seats in Madikeri CMC

Cong wins 10 out of 23 seats in Madikeri CMC

It requires support from other parties to form council

Cong wins 10 out of 23 seats in Madikeri CMC

By winning 10 seats out of 23, the Congress has emerged as the largest party in the Madikeri CMC. However, it requires the support of other political party to form the council.

The BJP which was in power during the last term had to be contended with eight seats. By winning four seats, the SDPI has made its appearance felt in the CMC. The JD(S) has won only one seat. There are 23 wards.

The voting of MLA Appachu Ranjan (BJP), MP H Vishwanath (Cong), MLC T John (Cong) and M C Nanaiah (JD(S) is counted in the Council. Hence, the total strengthen will be 27.
For a simple majority, the magic number is 14.

The counting commenced at the Fort hall premises on Tuesday at 8 am. With the EVMs used in the polling, the results were out within two hours.

With the Congress emerging as the single largest party, the party workers started celebrations in the Fort premises. Ward number 21 candidate Chummi Devaiah was elected for the fourth time.

As soon as he came out of the counting centre, the party workers celebrated the victory by bursting crackers.

Senior leaders from Congress T M Ayyappa, JD(S) spokesperson Muneer Ahammed, BJP town President Mahesh Jaini, JD(S) town President B Y Rajesh, SP district unit President Krishnamraju, SDPI district unit President Fazalulla, Independent candidates Baby Mathew and Sathish Pai lost the election.

New face

The voters have given an opportunity to the new faces in the CMC polls. Barring six to seven members, the rest are new entries.

With 50 per cent reservation for women, out of 23 wards, there are 12 women members in the council. With the post of President reserved for BCM (A woman), the president will be a woman.

The sixth ward Congress candidate Thujusum and BJP candidate P Kalavathi had won equal number of votes (145). By picking a lottery, the election officer declared Thujusum as the winner.

The percentage of votes secured by the political parties are as follows— Congress (33.51), BJP (32.41), JD(S)16.84, SDPI (37.24).