Counting of votes in ZP, TP polls today

Counting of votes in ZP, TP polls today

 Results of the just concluded elections to 30 zilla panchayats and 175 taluk panchayats will be announced on Tuesday.

In all, the polls were held for 1,080 ZP and 3,870 TP seats. Candidates have been elected unopposed for three ZP seats and 14 TP seats. The term of the local bodies will be five years from the date of issuing notice for the first meeting.

Of the total 176 taluks, polls were held in 175 taluks. The term of the Soraba taluk panchayat would end in July.

As many as 2.11 crore people exercised their voting rights in the elections held on February 13 and 20. The voting percentage was 71.70 per cent, three per cent more than in 2010 elections.

According to State Election Commissioner P N Srinivasachari, the counting of votes would commence at 8 am. After counting the postal ballots, the electronic voting machines would be opened.

The results, in all probability, would be available by 1 pm. The results would be uploaded on the official website of the election commission. But leads and trends would not be made available when the counting is on, he added.As many as 11,500 people have been employed for the counting, he said.