Monsoon session from July 17

 The Monsoon Session of Parliament, which usually commences in the last week of July, will be advanced to July 17 to coincide with the date of voting to choose the new President.

This will ensure that all the 776 members belonging to both Houses of Parliament are able to cast votes in the Parliament House, officials said.

The MPs are also allowed to cast votes in the legislature building of their respective state capitals. The MLAs, too, will arrive at their state’s legislature building to vote.
The electoral college comprises all elected MPs and MLAs.

They are free to vote a candidate of their choice as they are not bound by any party whip. The provisions of the anti-defection law are not applicable to the Presidential election .

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0