Gambhir to lead Board President's XI against Australia

The BCCI's selection panel met here at the Tamil Nadu Cricket Association headquarters at M A Chidambaram Stadium today and selected the team for the match which precedes the two-match Test series starting October 2 in Mohali, Board Secretary N Srinivasan said in a statement.

Gambhir, who was nursing a knee injury, is the only senior player in the team which comprises mostly of youngsters.The batting line-up features promising names such as Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Cheteshwar Pujara and wicketkeeper Wriddhiman Saha along with all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja.

The pace attack would be spearheaded by S Sreesanth with R Ashwin and Abhimanyu Mithun for company.The slower bowling department would be led by Piyush Chawla.
Australia will also play a three-match ODI series after the Tests, starting October 19 in Kochi.

The Board President's XI squad: Gautam Gambhir (Captain), Shikar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Wriddhiman Saha, R Ashwin, Piyush Chawla, Abhimanyu Mithun, S Sreesanth, Jaydev Unadkat, Umesh Yadav, Abhinav Mukund, Ravindra Jadeja

Assembly elections 2019 | Get the latest news, views and analysis on elections in Haryana and Maharashtra on

For election-related news in Maharashtra, click here

For election-related news in Haryana, click here

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)