Many law colleges in State face Bar Council axe

The Council has withdrawn approval for Hurakadli Ajja Law College in Dharwad and informed the Karnataka State Law University, Hubli about the closure.  Other colleges which were denied approval are Sonia Gandhi Law College, Jawahar Law College, Yadgir, Karnataka Law College, Gulbarga and Sagar Gangotri College of Law, Saraswati Law College, Chitradurga.

The request for approval of LLM courses were declined as many colleges did not have the required infrastructure. The list of colleges were published in the minutes of the meetings held by the Council in April, August and September.

Conditional approval

Several colleges have been given approval on the condition that they would meet the standards set by the Council. Bodies like the Karnataka State Law University would submit status report to the Council to monitor these colleges.

Even though the Council was not satisfied with R K Law College in the City, the institution has been granted approval for the current academic year  as it is an existing institution.

However, the application for granting LLM course has been rejected by the Council. According to the minutes, the Council was not confident that Siddharth Law College in Gulbarga would be able to conduct its 5-year law course well.

A show cause notice will be issued that the college might be derecognised; if it does not put in place the adequate remedial measures. For the time being, however, the college has been allowed to induct 60 students for its 5-year law course this academic year, provided it procures books worth Rs one lakh.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)