Karnataka players rewarded for good show

Leg-spinning all-rounder Shreyas Gopal, with 20 wickets from 14 games, was the fourth highest wicket-taker in IPL.

Karnataka players were rewarded for their good show in the Ranji Trophy and the just-concluded Indian Premier League with as many as four players being picked in various India 'A' teams for multi-day and one-day matches against Sri Lanka 'A' and West Indies 'A'. 

Leg-spinning all-rounder Shreyas Gopal, with 20 wickets from 14 games, was the fourth highest wicket-taker in IPL and he was named in the squad for two four-day match series against Sri Lanka 'A'. Wicketkeeper-batsman Ishan Kishan has been named the captain. 

Manish Pandey, who found his touch in the latter half of the season to pile up 344 runs, will lead India 'A' in a five-match one-day series against West Indies 'A'.

India 'A' will play two multi-day and five one-day matches against Sri Lanka 'A'. Gujarat skipper and opening batsman Priyank Panchal will lead the one-day side. The series, starting from May 25, will be held in Belagavi and Hubballi. 

India 'A' will also play three multi-day matches against West Indies 'A'. 

Attacking opener Mayank Agarwal was picked in the one-day squad. Off-spinning all-rounder K Gowtham, who had a forgettable IPL, found a place in the squad for the first and second multi-day matches. 

Shreyas Iyer will captain in the multi-day games. The series will begin from July 11. 

Squads: Against Sri Lanka: A: Multi-day: Ishan Kishan (c&wk), Anmolpreet Singh, Rituraj Gaikwad, Deepak Hooda, Ricky Bhui, Shubman Gill, Shivam Dube, Shreyas Gopal, Washington Sundar, Mayank Markande, Tushar Deshpande, Sandeep Warrier, Ishan Porel, Prashant Chopra. 

One-day: Priyank Panchal (captain), Abhimanyu Easwaran, Anmolpreet Singh, Ricky Bhui, Siddhesh Lad, Rinku Singh, Shivam Dube, KS Bharat (wk), Rahul Chahar, Jayant Yadav, A Sarwate, Sandeep Warrier, Ankit Rajpoot, Ishan Porel.

Against West Indies A: One-day: Manish Pandey (captain), Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Rishab Pant (wk), Rahul Chahar, Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Krunal Pandya, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Khaleel Ahmed, Avesh Khan. 

1st & 2nd multi-day games: Shreyas Iyer (c), Priyank Panchal, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Shubman Gill, Hanuma Vihari, Shivam Dube, Wriddhiman Saha (WK), KS Bharat (WK), K Gowtham, S Nadeem, Mayank Markande, Navdeep Saini, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Avesh Khan.

3rd multi-day game: Shreyas Iyer (captain), Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), KS Bharat (wk), Shivam Dube, Mayank Markande, K Gowtham, S Nadeem, Navdeep Saini, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Avesh Khan. 


Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Deccanherald.com/news/lok-sabha-elections-2019 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Comments (+)