Just 5 out of 19 cabinet ministers win in Rajasthan

Congress workers and supporters burst fire crackers to celebrate the counting trends that show the party's win in the Rajasthan Assembly elections, in Jaipur, Tuesday, Dec 11, 2018. (PTI Photo)

As results and trends brought electoral reverses for the ruling BJP 13 out of the 19 ministers in the outgoing Vasundhara Raje's cabinet have lost the Assembly elections in Rajasthan 

However, Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje and her five cabinet colleagues have won their respective constituencies. Among the ministers who lost the elections are: Agriculture Minister Prabhu Lal Saini (Anta), Food & Civil Supply Minister Baboo Lal Verma (Baran-Atru), Revenue Minister Amra Ram (Pachpadra), Tourism Minister Krishnendra Kaur (Nadbai), Housing and Urban Development Minister Srichand Kriplani (Nimahera). 

Moreover, among those who lost are Water Resources Minister Rampratap (Hanumangarh), Social Justice Minister Arun Chaturvedi (Civil Lines), Industries Minister Rajpal Singh (Jhotwara), Cooperative Minister Ajay Singh (Degana), Gaupalan Minister Otaram Devasi (Sirohi) and Transport Minister Yoonus Khan (Tonk).

Khan lost the Muslim-dominated seat of Tonk to Pradesh Congress Committee President Sachin Pilot.

Interestingly Raje won the Jhalrapatan seat with a margin of 34,980 votes by defeating her nearest rival and Congress leader Manvendra Singh, the son of veteran BJP leader Jaswant Singh.  

Her five other cabinet ministers who won are, Home Minister Gulab Chand Kataria (Udaipur), Education Minister Vasundev Devnani (Ajmer North), Women and Child Development Minister Anita Bhadel (Ajmer South), Parliamentary Affairs Minister Rajendra Rathore (Churu) and Higher Education Minister Kiran Maheshwari (Rajsamand) have retained their respective seats.

Trends showed a majority for the Congress, which was in the lead in 101 seats, miles ahead of its tally of 21 in 2013 when the BJP won a massive victory of 163 seats in the 200-member house.

Here is why BJP lost in Rajasthan



Failure in Tackling Agrarian Crisis and farmers issues

Caste Factor 

Rise in the Hate crime 

Infighting between Raje and Centre leadership 

Comments (+)