Pinarayi-led LDF finalises 11 ministers

Pinarayi-led LDF finalises 11 ministers

Pinarayi-led LDF finalises 11 ministers
The CPM on Monday finalised its list of 11 ministers, including two women, to be part of the new Pinarayi Vijayan-led Left Democratic Front (LDF) Cabinet in Kerala.

The party’s state committee formally cleared the names of ministers proposed by the state secretariat. The Cabinet will be sworn-in on Wednesday.

Apart from Chief Minister-designate Pinarayi Vijayan, the Cabinet will feature party’s central committee members TM Thomas Isaac, EP Jayarajan, AK Balan and KK Shailaja; state committee members G Sudhakaran, AC Moideen, Kadakampally Surendran and J Mercykutty Amma, and state secretariat member TP Ramakrishnan. Puthukkad MLA C Raveendranath and CPM-backed independent MLA from Thavanur K T Jaleel will be the two other ministers in the proposed 19-member Cabinet. Eight of the 12 ministers – barring Pinarayi, Isaac, Balan and Sudhakaran – are newcomers.

Pinarayi is likely to hold the portfolio of home minister as well. Reports said Thomas Isaac could return as finance minister after his 2006-2011 stint. Surendran and Shailaja were being considered as ministers for power and health, respectively. Ponnani MLA P Sreeramakrishnan will be the speaker of the 14th Legislative Assembly.

The CPI, the second biggest constituent of the LDF, also released its list of four ministers in the Cabinet. The party has gone with four first-timers – VS Sunilkumar, E Chandrasekharan, K Raju and P Thilothaman. CPI’s Chirayinkeezhu MLA V Sasi will be the deputy speaker.

Congress (Secular)’s single MLA Ramachandran Kadannappalli and a minister each from the NCP and the JD(S) will complete the new Cabinet.